Driver's License Suspension

Suspension Is One of Many DUI Penalties

No one wants a drunk driver to remain on the road. That is why highway patrolmen, sheriff's officers and police officers confiscate a suspected offender's license upon a DUI arrest, and the state gives the driver two weeks to request an administrative before suspending their license.

In the state of Kansas, there are various license-related consequences that you may be facing if charged with driving under the influence. They vary depending on whether or not your DUI is a repeat offense and how intoxicated the machine says the driver was at the time of arrest.

  • First Offense:
    BAC of 0.08% – 0.15%:
    30-day license suspension; 6 months with an ignition interlock device.
    BAC greater than 0.15% or refusal of breath test: 1-year license suspension; 1 year of driving with an interlock
    Refusal - 1-year license suspension: 2 years of driving with an interlock
  • Second Offense:
    BAC of 0.08% – 0.15%:
    1-year license suspension; 1 year of driving with an interlock
    BAC greater than 0.15%: 1-year license suspension; 2 years of driving with an interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
    Refusal of breath test: 1-year license suspension; 3 years of driving with an interlock
  • Third Offense:
    BAC of 0.08% – 0.15%:
    1-year license suspension; 2 years of driving with interlock; $300 reinstatement fee
    BAC greater than 0.15%: 1-year license suspension; 3 years of driving with an interlock; $300 reinstatement fee
    Refusal of breath test: 1-year license suspension; 4 years of driving with an interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
  • Fourth Offense:
    BAC of 0.08% – 0.15%:
    1-year license suspension; 3 years of driving with an interlock
    BAC greater than 0.015%: 1-year license suspension; 4 years of driving with an interlock
    Refusal of breath test: 1-year license suspension; 5 years of driving with an interlock; $1000 reinstatement fee
  • Fifth Offense:
    BAC of 0.08% or higher, or refusal of breath test:
    1-year license suspension; 10 years of driving with an interlock

LIMITED DRIVING PRIVILEGE (HARDSHIP) - some drivers may be eligible for a limited privilege after 30 or 45 days of suspension. Please call our office or go to the KDOR website to find out more.

In the State of Missouri, there are various license-related consequences that you may be facing if charged with driving under the influence. They vary depending on whether or not your DUI is a repeat offense and how intoxicated the machine says the driver was at the time of arrest.

  • First offense - .08 or greater - 30 days suspension followed by 60 days restricted
  • Refusal - one year suspension
  • Second offense - .08 or greater or Refusal - one year suspension

Hire a Lawyer

Attorney Paul W. Burmaster has represented clients in DUI defense cases for more than 20 years. As a member of the National College for DUI Defense, he has proven his level of skill. He also received the 2012 Clients' Choice Award from Avvo®, one of the nation's most respected attorney-rating services. To learn more about our firm, please contact our offices right away or fill out our online evaluation form. Through a no-obligation consultation, you can learn exactly what Attorney Burmaster can do to fight your DUI charges.

Contact Paul W. Burmaster, P.A. Today

Schedule Your Free DUI Consultation