Penalties for First DUI Offenses
Have you been arrested for your first time DUI offense? If so, you may
be wondering about the penalties you would face for a conviction. In Kansas, a
first time DUI is charged as a Class B misdemeanor.
Penalties for this type of offense include up to:
- 180-days in jail
- Fines and court fees totaling close to $1,500
- The suspension of your driving privileges
- Increased insurance costs
- Ignition interlock once your driving privileges are restored
DUI conviction will also go on your permanent criminal record and can affect your ability
to travel internationally, especially to Canada. You would face additional
charges and penalties if you were responsible for causing a DUI-related
accident resulting in injury or death.The most effective way to fight
DUI charges is with the help of a skilled Kansas City DUI attorney.
Call Paul W. Burmaster P.A. at 913.738.4780
today to learn more!
Get an Experienced Attorney to Fight for You
Why Choose Our Firm for your First Time DUI?
Attorney Paul Burmaster is a former prosecutor with more than 20 years of legal experience.
- He is the 2012 and 2014 Avvo Client's Choice Award winner for DUI and
a committed advocate for those accused of drunk driving any place in Kansas
City or the surrounding communities.
He personally handles each case
his firm takes on -- so you can rest assured that your case will not be handed
off to an associate or some kid fresh out of law school.
Our accomplished attorneys have a wide variety of defense strategies that
can be used to fight DUI charges. Not all failed field sobriety tests
or breathalyzer results showing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level
of 0.08 or more will lead to a conviction. You deserve to have someone
fighting on your behalf.
Contact his firm now to schedule a
free case consultation and to find out what he can do for you.