Kansas City Drugs & DUI Lawyer
Charged with a DUI offense related to drug intoxication? Call us now.
In both Kansas and Missouri, it is illegal to operate a vehicle under the
influence of any drug, whether illegal or legal, that could render you
incapable of safely driving a vehicle. If law enforcement stops you, whether
at a roadside sobriety checkpoint, or due to a minor traffic infraction,
and believes that you are under the influence of drugs, you will be arrested
and tested with a blood or urine test. A legally prescribed medication
could come under this category, and you could be arrested and charged,
facing heavy penalties if convicted. Whether the drug is any of the following,
you are in danger of serious legal repercussions if charged.
- Sleeping pill
- Depression medication
- Hay fever medication
- Over-the-counter medication
- Natural remedy
Illegal drugs such as:
- Other types of drug
A former prosecutor on your side can make the difference.
drug and DUI attorney in Kansas City to learn more about how we can defend you.
Paul W. Burmaster P.A., has impressive qualifications and credentials that could be of great
benefit to you in defending your case. He formerly served as an assistant
prosecuting attorney in Kansas and Missouri, giving him an inside view
of how the criminal justice system operates, and what it takes to successfully
challenge the evidence in a DUI drugs case. He served as a prosecutor
in both Kansas and Missouri, and is well-versed on the
DUI laws of both states. He has over 20 years of experience and success in
court, and has tried over 40 jury trials, and over 300 bench trials. You
want this level of experience on your side. It makes a difference. Read his
top 7 ways to fight a DUI for more information about defense strategies that work in many cases.
Penalties for Drugs & DUI
In Kansas, the penalties that could be imposed upon you are significant.
A first offense in a case that does not include an accident or injury,
will most often be filed as a Class B misdemeanor. This is not a minor
offense, and in fact, has up to 6 months in jail as part of the penalties,
but you face a minimum of 2 days in jail. You can be required to perform
100 hours of public service, and face fines as high as $1,000, not to
mention the hidden costs of increased insurance and license suspension
and interlock requirements. You would also be ordered to enroll in and
complete an alcohol and drug safety action education program or another
A second charge will be filed as a Class A misdemeanor, and the penalties
will be greatly increased, including a minimum of 5 days in jail and up
to a year. Fines can be as high as $1,750. You may have to serve at least
5 days in jail even if you are given probation, which is at the judge's
discretion – and judges vary in how they impose sentencing. If you
are given probation and a shorter period of time in jail, you will need
to complete a mandatory treatment program imposed by the court, within
a specific period of time. If you fail to do so, your probation could
be cancelled and you can be taken back into custody to serve the term
you avoided by going on probation.
A third conviction in a drugs & DUI case is a felony. You will be required
to spend at least 90 days in custody and up to 1 year in Kansas. In Missouri,
120 days in the minimum, and you could face time in the Penitentiary.
Contact us to find out how the firm can help you fight back. We know the law, we
know your rights, and we can help you understand what to do with your case.