First-Offense DUI Charges
What happens after a first-time DUI arrest in Kansas or Missouri?
Multiple DUI convictions result in more severe
penalties than a first-offense DUI conviction. Although first-time DUI penalties
are less severe, you should still retain a Kansas City DUI attorney to
fight your charges and prevent you from facing high fines and possible
time in jail.
Kansas DUI Laws require a minimum 2 days in jail for a first offense and 5 for a second
with a maximum sentence of 1 year. Refusal to blow into the breath test
machine at the station can be charged as a crime on a second or subsequent case.
There are 3 options for dealing with a first offense:
Contact Paul W. Burmaster, Olathe and Overland Park DUI attorney, now to discuss your best option
for resolving your case.
Class B Misdemeanor in Kansas, a first DUI offense will carry the following penalties:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fines of at least $750 and probably closer to $1200 with court costs
- driver's license suspension and interlock of at least 7 months
Missouri DUI laws require a minimum 2 days in jail for a first offense with a maximum sentence
of up to six months. In the Kansas City area, community service is often
substituted for the minimum jail sentence, but there is still probation,
fines, and suspension of license someone charged with a DUI faces.
Class B misdemeanor in Missouri, a first
DUI offense will carry the following penalties:
- 8 points on your driving record
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
- 90-day driver's license suspension, the last 60 of which may be reduced
to a restricted driving privilege (RDP) permit
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, then make sure
you know how to defend your case. Your charges could be based on faulty
breath test results or a failed
field sobriety test caused by a medical condition. At Paul W. Burmaster P.A., we have the
experience and skill to fight your charges, so call now to schedule an
initial case evaluation. We would love to review your case and provide
you with initial options.
Fight Your Charges by Retaining an Overland Park Defense Lawyer
Attorney Paul W. Burmaster has represented clients in more than 40 jury
trials and more than 300 bench trials. He is also a member of the National
College for DUI Defense and lectures about DUI defense on a regular basis.
Call our firm today to engage in a
free case consultation. Only a skilled DUI attorney can maximize your chances of having your
charges dismissed. We have successfully defended countless cases, so contact
our offices at your earliest convenience. We will not stop fighting until
we achieve the best possible results for your first time drunk driving
Call our first time DUI lawyer in Kansas to discuss your case today.